Installing Kali 2.0 on Raspberry Pi 3 + NoMachine

I recently ordered a Raspberry Pi 3 (currently £30.80) with an SanDisk Ultra 8 GB microSDHC Card (Currently £4.35) with the intention of installing Kali 2.0.  For this setup i used my Windows 10 PC.

This post will cover setting up the SD Card and installing Kali

I downloaded the ARM Image from the Offensive Security Site, which comes down compressed.  I also downloaded Win32 Disk Imager and installed it.

Decompress the kali.img file, insert the SD card into your PC  and open win32 Disk Imager.

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 14.21.51

Browse to the kali.img file you just decompressed, ensure you have your SD Card Device correct and start the Write.

Once this is complete, eject the SD Card from your PC and insert it into your Raspberry Pi.

Connect a Mouse, Keyboard, Monitor, Network Cable and Power cable – the Pi will automatically power up and boot into Kali.

I used my Monitor, Keyboard and Mouse to connect to my Kali Pi for the first time.  I configured the network so that I had a Static IP on the Ethernet Interface – see Assign static IP in Ubuntu post for how to configure this.

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 15.10.43.png

My plan is to use a combination of SSH and NoMachine to connect to my Kali Pi

I pulled down the ARM version of NoMachine From Here making sure its the .deb version.  Once this was downloaded, i ran

dpkg -i nomachine_5.1.26_5_armhf.deb

NOTE: I already have NoMachine setup on my Lab PC and my MacBook Pro and use this to connect to a bunch of other Linux Servers I have, if i need GUI access.  I have to say it works pretty well.

 

Leave a Reply

